Go to ...

RSS Feed

December 14, 2017

Walters State Community College’s 24th Paramedic Class received certificates during a recent ceremony at Walters State’s Morristown campus.

Courtesy Photo

Four Hawkins students graduate paramedic program

MORRISTOWN – Four Hawkins County residents were among 16 paramedics graduating Walters State’s Paramedic Class 24 during a recent ceremony on the college’s Morristown campus.

The graduation speaker, Brad Phillips, director of the Jefferson County EMS, advised the new paramedics to adhere to four principles: “Follow your heart; continually fight complacency; consistently find compassion; and finish what you’ve started.”

Walters State offers a three-semester paramedic program as part of its Division of Public Safety. The program typically has a 100 percent placement rate.

Class 24 members include: David Benton, Nicholas Gwin, Amanda Hurst and Keith Samsel of Hawkins County; Mary Strange of Grainger County, Marcus Atkins, Kyler Evans and Kenneth Liedy of Jefferson County; Stephen Lewis of Blount County; Dalton Manis and David Sparks of Greene County; and Isaac Inman, Kandra Spurling, Austin Vick, Steven Russell and Erin Thomas of Sevier County.

Hurst was awarded the Professional Development Award, and Samsel received the Academic Award.

Share your opinions and comments with the editor. Send your Letter to the Editor now.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *