Pirates baseball battling hard

WASHBURN – The Washburn High School Pirates chances for a District 2A baseball championship suffered a crushing blow as the league-leading Greenback High School Cherokees came in and swept a doubleheader Monday, April 26.

The final score was 4-1 in the opener and 15-2 in the nightcap. Greenback remained undefeated in the district while Washburn dropped to 5-3.

The Pirates managed only six hits while wasting scoring chances in two different innings and fell 5-0 to Hampton in a non-district game Friday, April 23.

Tanner Williams led off the home first inning with a single, stole second and reached third base on a wild pitch. But Justin Rotella struck out to end the threat.

In the third inning, Izic Wolfenbarger and Billy Graves had back-to-back singles with two outs. Rotella flied to right field for the third out.

On the mound, Wolfenbarger surrendered a run in the first inning. He walked the leadoff batter who then stole second and scored on a base hit with two out. He gave up a home run in the fourth inning and left mound at the end of the inning. 

Eighth grader Reilly Munsey offered pitching relief in the fifth inning and gave up the other three runs.

For the game, Rotella had two hits and Williams, Graves, Wolfenbarger and Zack Davis had one hit each.

The Pirates exploded for four runs in the bottom of the sixth inning to overcome a 6-3 deficit and secure a 7-6 win over AA opponent Cumberland Gap High School Thursday, April 25.

Billy Joe Wolfenbarger had two RBIs to lead the rally. Rotella pitched the seventh inning and retired the side in order to get the win.

Izic Wolfenbarger had two hits in the game.

The Pirates ran their district 2A record to 5-1 with a 9-3 win over Cosby High School Tuesday, April 20. They also defeated the Eagles on the road the previous day.

They scored three runs in the fourth inning and four more in the fifth to put the game away.

Munsey had three hits and three RBIs, Graves and James Lineham had two RBIs each. Rotella added two base hits. Izic Wolfenbarger was the winning pitcher.